A secret wander around Rome’s Verano cemetery

I have always appreciated the peaceful, sacred atmosphere of cemeteries. When I was very young I remember wandering around the graves at Layston in Buntingford, England, asking my mother about the different family names and looking at the pretty flower arrangements. Then during my time at university in Edinburgh I had plenty of opportunities to explore the spooky cemeteries of the Scottish capital, Greyfriars Kirkyard and Old Calton Cemetery being among my favourites.

In Rome, I often take visitors to the Non-Catholic cemetery near Piramide, where the English poets John Keats and Percy Shelley are buried. In recent years I have discovered the municipal cemetery at Campo Verano, stretching over the site of the estate of emperor Lucius Verus, in the San Lorenzo district. A few weeks ago I went back there for a wander.

blogunnamed

According to my research, the area around the church of Saint Lawrence outside the walls has been a burial ground for centuries. Testimony to this are the ancient catacombs of Santa Ciriaca, underneath the church. The Verano cemetery next door was constructed from 1804, following the Edict of St. Cloud establishing that all burials should take place outside the city walls. Work was started under Napoleonic rule based on a project by Giuseppe Valadier. It was then carried on by the architect Virginio Vespignani under papal rule. Parts of the cemetery, such as the entrance and area around the military memorial,  were damaged by allied bombing in World War Two and subsequently rebuilt.

During my recent walk I entered through the impressive front archways, which are flanked by four large statues representing Meditation, Hope, Charity and Silence.

veranoentranceI headed through the cemetery to the large courtyard at the far end. I took a moment to admire its symmetrical lay-out. I also noted several graves of nuns and monks  amid the flowers and hedges in the central square.

verano1

photo 2

I walked through the arcades around the edge of the courtyard, which contained rows of shrines, like this one:

shrine

Next I veered up the steps to the graveyard stretching over the hillside. Up here it’s peaceful but often quite deserted so can be a bit scary, especially if you are on your own! I stopped to look at the details on some of the graves, including statues of pensive and forlorn angels.

angel2

angel

flightofthespirit

Some graves also have images or pictures of the people buried here.

tomb

photo (10)

The family tombs varied in appearance and decoration. This one, covered in colourful mosaics, was particularly striking:

photo (11)

After stopping to stroke a cat roaming around the cemetery, I headed back down the hill, past more grave stones flanked by overgrown flower bushes, and out towards the church of St. Lawrence.

blueflowers

Several prominent Italians and foreigners are buried in Verano cemetery, including actor Ennio Balbo, novelist Alberto Moravia, and poet Giuseppe Ungaretti. I’ll leave you with a poem Ungaretti wrote in response to World War Two and the bombing of Verano cemetery. I have read various interpretations of it but in essence one could say he is inviting people to stop hating each other and listen in silence to the message of those who have died in war, to ensure that they did not die in vain.

No more crying out

Stop murdering the dead.
Be still, cry out no longer
If you really want to hear them,
If you hope not to perish.

Theirs is the faintest murmur,
They make no more disturbance
Than the springing up of grasses
Happy where no man passes.

9 thoughts on “A secret wander around Rome’s Verano cemetery

  1. I will be in Rome June 2016 and want to find the grave of American sculptor Randolph Rogers who is in Campo Verano. Is there a way I can write ahead to get directions to his grave. Thank you for your beautiful pictures!

  2. Thanks Catherine. I tried the info email and have gotten no response in a month. I have no ability to call internationally. I have to find someone there to be a contact. BTW do you know if photography for personal use is permitted?

  3. Dear Deb, I think you are better off speaking directly to Verano about these details. Sorry you’ve received no reply. Try sending another email? I plan to visit again in the next few months and if i find out any information to help you I’ll let you know.

      1. Hi Deb, please note reader comment below. Maybe it will help. Actually following all of this I did some research online and realised I have seen Randolph Rogers’ grave in Verano, as it is a copy of his Flight of the Spirit bas-relief on the Waterman monument. I specifically remember noticing that image of the veiled woman and thinking it was quite haunting. It was in the Pincetto Vecchio, up the steps from the Quadriportico. I can’t confirm details of the exact location though at moment.

  4. Hi, I live in Rome, I swung by the cemetery for you and while I didn’t get a picture yet, I DID get the grave information; so just bring a map (which you can find online (better so you have it with you!) or view at the entrance). I will try to get pictures next time I’m in the area, I just didn’t have time to go to the grave this time.
    There are several interred in the grave; I assume some are family:
    location
    Zona/Zone – Pincetto Vecchio
    Sottozona/Sub zone – Ex Vigna Cappuccini
    Riquadro/panel – 20
    Numero/Number – 27
    Fila/Row – 97
    Posti/Places – 000

    Those who are buried there and/or have their names on the grave and dates of death (where applicable)are:
    Mary Rogers – 13/10/1859
    Rogers Randolph
    Edmond Rosa – 29/05/1867
    Rogers Randolph – 15/01/1891
    Gibson Rosa – 29/07/1890
    Rogers Virginia
    Santini Pietro – 29/08/1961

  5. Thank you! You are fantastic, Daltont2000! I will look for the map online. Can’t wait to visit Rome. I love that city!

    1. You’re welcome Deb! The info I provided is from the office on the cemetery grounds, which I went to personally, so it should be 100% accurate. I hope you enjoy your visit to Rome. Thomas

Leave a Reply

